History of the Games

1972Roy Romanow, the Minister then in charge of the Saskatchewan Youth Agency, announces the inaugeration of the Saskatchewan Games. The province is divided into eight competitor zones, with Saskatoon and Regina each considered individual zones.
1972The first-ever Saskatchewan Games are held in Moose Jaw from August 31st to September 3rd. Included in the sixteen summer sports being contested are lacrosse, field hockey, lawn bowling, water polo and water skiing!
1974North Battleford hosts the first Saskatchewan Winter Games from March 4th to 9th.
1998The Government of Saskatchewan provides a special initiative grant to facilitate a Northern team participating in one complete Saskatchewan Games cycle: the 2000 Summer Games and 2002 Winter Games.
2002The Sask Sport Board of Directors endorses the recommendations of the Saskatchewan Games Council to include a ninth zone (North) in the Saskatchewan Games program.
2006The nine Zone Sport Councils and twenty-three Regional Recreation Associations merge to create nine District organizations. These new organizations are to have an overall, common mandate of community development through sport, culture and recreation for people and communities in Saskatchewan. The change is finalized in 2009.
2006The Government of Saskatchewan transfers the responsibility of the Saskatchewan Games program to the Saskatchewan Games Council, which had by then been established as a nonprofit organization.
2010Moose Jaw hosts the Winter Games, the first Games where the new District Team concept is put into play.
2020For the first time in Games history, the Saskatchewan Games are postponed for one year due to the COVID-19 global pandemic, and ultimately cancelled in 2021. Lloydminster, the host of the 2020 Games, will now play host to the 2024 Saskatchewan Summer Games.
2022The 2022 Saskatchewan Winter Games in Regina were postponed in January of 2022 due to the pandemic.
2023The Saskatchewan Games program will celebrate its 50th anniversary at the 2023 Saskatchewan Winter Games in Regina!

Previous host communities

Summer Games

1972 | Moose Jaw
1976 | Swift Current
1980 | Estevan
1984 | North Battleford
1988 | Melfort
1992 | Prince Albert
1996 | Moose Jaw
2000 | Yorkton
2004 | Weyburn
2008 | Lloydminster
2012 | Meadow Lake
2016 | Estevan
2021 | Lloydminster (cancelled)
2024 | Lloydminster

Winter Games

1974 | North Battleford
1978 | Moose Jaw
1982 | Prince Albert
1986 | Yorkton
1990 | Melville/Ituna
1994 | Kindersley
1998 | Nipawin
2002 | Humboldt
2006 | Melfort
2010 | Moose Jaw
2014 | Prince Albert
2018 | North Battleford
2023 | Regina

Past Games results