Saskatchewan games council

SASKATCHEWAN GAMES HISTORY

In 1972 Roy Romanow, the Minister then in charge of the Saskatchewan Youth Agency, announced the inauguration of the Saskatchewan Games. This announcement gave Saskatchewan athletes of all ages the opportunity to participate in multi-sport games.

The province was divided into eight zones with Saskatoon and Regina each considered individual zones. Play-downs to select a zone team were held in each zone.

The areas of responsibility then were outlined. The zones were responsible for selecting their teams and bringing them to the Games site. The provincial sport governing bodies were to determine the class and rules governing the competition. The Department of Culture and Youth took on the responsibility as the logistical supporter and organizer of the Games. They assisted the various zone committees, sport organizations and the host community with the planning and operating of the Games.

Four Saskatchewan cities submitted bid applications to host the 1972 Saskatchewan Summer Games. To encourage province wide involvement Regina and Saskatoon were declared ineligible to host the Games, as these centers have the ability to host other major events. After much deliberation the Site Selection Committee chose Moose Jaw to be the first community to host a Saskatchewan Games.

From August 31 to September 3, 1972, athletes from all over the province competed in 16 different summer sports. Baseball, canoeing, cycling, diving, field hockey, lacrosse, lawn bowling, rowing, shooting, soccer, softball, swimming, tennis, track and field, water polo and water skiing were the first sports to be played in a Saskatchewan Games.

The inaugural Games were a huge success and set the stage for the first Saskatchewan Winter Games. This time the Site Selection Committee recommended North Battleford as the host community for the 1974 Games. The Saskatchewan Winter Games were held from March 4th to the 9th and involved 14 sports: badminton, fencing, figure skating, gymnastics, handgun, hockey, judo, skiing, speed skating, synchronized swimming, table tennis, volleyball, weightlifting and wrestling. With one cycle of biennial games staged alternately in summer and winter complete, the concept of the Saskatchewan Games was a proven success.

In September 1998 the Government of Saskatchewan provided a special initiatives grant to facilitate a Northern team participating in one complete Saskatchewan Games cycle, the 2000 Saskatchewan Summer Games and the 2002 Saskatchewan Winter Games. In January 1999 the Saskatchewan Games Council formerly approved the Zone 9 Pilot and would reserve its decision on a permanent Zone 9 until after the 2002 Saskatchewan Winter Games.

In December 2002 the Sask Sport Board of Directors endorsed the recommendations of the Saskatchewan Games Council to include Zone 9 in the Saskatchewan Games program.

In May 2004, the Building Better Communities (BBC) was established to develop and implement a process to solicit input from sport, culture and recreation stakeholders on potential enhancements to the delivery system. The BBC was cooperatively established by Sask Sport Inc., SaskCulture Inc. and Saskatchewan Parks and Recreation Association Inc.

In January 2006 the BBC recommended the nine Zone Sport Councils and twenty-three Regional Recreation Associations merge to create nine "District" organizations. These new organizations are to have an overall, common mandate of community development through sport, culture and recreation for people and communities in Saskatchewan. The transition to new "Districts" was completed province-wide by March 31, 2009.

The purpose of the Saskatchewan Games has narrowed over the years. Instead of focusing on including athletes of all ages and abilities the Games now work to provide athletes in the "train to train" stage of development with the opportunity to compete in a multi-sport games in preparation for higher levels competition.

For many years the government department responsible for sport provided consultative services to the host communities, liaised with the Zone Sport Councils and assumed full responsibility for the games program with the support of the Saskatchewan Games Council. In 2006 the Government of Saskatchewan transferred the responsibility of the Saskatchewan Games program to the Saskatchewan Games Council. The Saskatchewan Games Council then hired a provincial games consultant to compliment the existing staff and ensure the continued success of the Saskatchewan Games program.

The Council and it's staff continue to work together to ensure the Saskatchewan Games program continues to enable athletes in the "train to train" development stage with their pursuit of higher levels of competition.

HOST COMMUNITIES FOR SASKATCHEWAN GAMES

Summer Games

- 1972 Moose Jaw (inaugural games)
- 1976 Swift Current
- 1980 Estevan
- 1984 North Battleford
- 1988 Melfort
- 1992 Prince Albert
- 1996 Moose Jaw
- 2000 Yorkton
- 2004 Weyburn
- 2008 Lloydminster
- 2012 Meadow Lake

Winter Games

- 1974 North Battleford
- 1978 Moose Jaw
- 1982 Prince Albert
- 1986 Yorkton
- 1990 Melville/Ituna
- 1994 Kindersley
- 1998 Nipawin
- 2002 Humboldt
- 2006 Melfort
- 2010 Moose Jaw
- 2014 Prince Albert

DISTRICTS PARTICIPATING IN THE SASKATCHEWAN GAMES

Team Southeast

South East Saskatchewan Association for Culture, Recreation and Sport (Weyburn and Estevan areas)

Team Regina

Regina Sport (Regina)

Team Southwest

South West District for Culture, Recreation and Sport (Moose Jaw and Swift Current areas)

Team Parkland

Parkland Valley Sport, Culture and Recreation District (Yorkton and Melville areas)

Team Prairie Central

Prairie Central District for Sport, Culture and Recreation Inc. (Humboldt, Fort Qu'Appelle and Watrous areas)

Team Saskatoon

Saskatoon Sports Council (Saskatoon)

Team Rivers West

Rivers West District for Sport Culture and Recreation (North Battleford, Rosetown and Lloydminster areas)

Team Lakeland

Lakeland District for Sport, Culture and Recreation (Prince Albert and Melfort areas)

Team North

Northern Sport, Culture and Recreation District Northern Saskatchewan